Denton A. Cooley Cardiovascular Surgical Society
Home About News Resources

Traveling Fellowship Honorees

Begun in 1981 the Traveling Fellowship Award honors the Outstanding CV Surgery Fellow at the Texas Heart Institute. Honorees are selected by cardiothoracic surgery residents and staff, and criteria include knowledge, technical performance and professionalism. The honoree is recognized each year at the Texas Heart Institute Honors Banquet and receives expense paid travel to the medical/surgical center of his choice in the USA, serving as an ambassador for this society and the Texas Heart Institute.

1981     Jonathan Ho, MD Hong Kong
1982     R. Keith Warrian, MD Canada
1983     Estanislao deCastro, MD Philippines
1984     Cherif Makram Egypt &  Jose Yamamoto, MD Philippines
1985     Luiz Kubrusly, MD Brazil
1986     Hooshang Kadivar, MD Iran
1987     Ramesh K. Srungaram, MD India
1988     Gordon Knight, DO USA
1989     Zahid Amin, MD Pakistan
1990     Baljit Sharma, MD India
1991     Oscar Talledo, MD Peru
1992     Michael Swanson, DO USA
1993     Gamal S. Mohamad, MD Egypt
1994     Oscar Villegas, MD Mexico
1995     Henry S. Awariefe, MD USA & Yiannis A. Chloroyiannis Greece
1996     Alex Palacios, MD Mexico
1997     Qiang Li, MD China
1998     Jaime Esquivel, MD Philippines
1999     Sandeep Singh, MD India
2000     Muhammad Waseem, MD Pakistan & Mehmet Akay, MD Turkey
©2004-2008 Denton A. Cooley Cardiovascular Surgical Society • Please contact us with questions or comments.