Denton A. Cooley Cardiovascular Surgical Society
Home About News Resources

About the Society

The Denton A. Cooley Cardiovascular Surgical Society was organized and chartered on March 13, 1972, by active CV surgery residents and fellows at the Texas Heart Institute as a tribute to their mentor for his contributions to cardiovascular surgery and physician education throughout the world.

With more than 800 physician members representing 49 countries and 44 of the 50 United States, the Society meets biennially to fulfill its purposes of scientific exchange and social reunion.

For international symposia, the Society also selects for special recognition a physician who has distinguished himself in cardiovascular medicine or surgery.


President – O. H. Frazier, MD
President-Elect – Ugo Tesler, MD
Immediate Past President – Jim Livesay, MD
Secretary/Treasurer – Ross M. Reul, MD
Co-Program Directors – Igor Gregoric MD & Scott LeMaire MD

Council Members

  • Jerry Gooch, MD
  • Tim Dernbach MD
  • Michael Reardon MD
  • Michael Ingram MD
  • J. David Vega, MD
  • Ara Vaporciyan, MD
  • Michael C. Murphy MD
  • Robert J. Still MD
  • Stanley Ziomek MD
  • Lyudmil Boyadzhiev MD
  • Bruce Jones MD
  • R. Keith Warrian MD

Contact Information

The Texas Heart Institute at St. Luke's Episcopal Hospital—The Denton A. Cooley Building DACCVSS
P. O. Box 20345
Houston, TX 77225-0345

Phone Number: 832-355-4942

Fax Number: 832-355-3770



©2004-2010 Denton A. Cooley Cardiovascular Surgical Society • Please contact us with questions or comments.